Apr 09, 2018

Division of power at Chilaw Municipal Council

The United National Party succeeded in winning power of the Chilaw Municipal Council by five votes at the Chilaw MC auditorium today (09).

Accordingly, Thushan Abeysekera of the UNP was elected as the Chairman while Sadukul Ameen from the SLFP was appointed as the Deputy Chairman.

In electing the Chairman and Deputy, A faction of members of the UNP and SLFP had collectively used their vote.

The Chilaw Municipal Council consists of seven members from the UNP, six from the SLFP and six from the SLPP and one member from the JVP.

However, the JVP member had refrained from casting his vote.