Mar 29, 2018

Flower bud MPs boycott Dinesh’s partisan’s assumption of duties!

Opposing the appointment of Jayantha Rohana to the post of Chairman of the Seethawaka Pradeshiya Sabha, the SLPP, UNP and JVP members had boycotted the ceremony of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman taking over duties.

Jayantha Rohana is a member of the Mahajana Eksath Peramuna under the leadership of MP Dinesh Gunawardena. This is the only Pradeshiya Sabha that the Mahajana Eksath Peramuna has secured the Chairman’s post.

However, the 11 SLPP members, 13 UNP members, the 3 JVP members and one SLFP member totaling 27 members had not attended the ceremony.

Jayantha had previously held the post of Chairman of the Seethawaka Pradeshiya Sabha and it is reported that his administration had come under criticism by the public.

It is also reported that there was expectation that the Chairmanship would be given to the SLPP candidate Attorney Ravindra Jayasinghe.

He had refused the Deputy Chairmanship having lost the opportunity of becoming the Chairman, and had later taken measures to appoint Manjula Pradeep Kumara to the post from the SLPP.

Meanwhile, 11 SLPP members, 07 Mahajana Eksath Peramuna members, 03 Communist Party members and 01 each from the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya and the National Freedom Front  had agreed to support the Seethawaka Pradeshiya Sabha administration.

Accordingly, the support of 23 members were given to the governing party.

The opposition consists of 20 members including the 13 UNP members, 03 each from the SLFP and JVP and the independent group.