Dec 18, 2018

MPs crossover to govt. as parliament convenes

Parliament convened a short while ago for the first time since UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in as Prime minister.

MPs Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa, Lakshman Seneviratne, Indika Banadaranayake and Piyasena Gamage crossed over and joined the UNF Government.

Meanwhile, Speaker Karu Jayasuriya has recognised MP Mahinda Rajapaksa as the opposition leader.

Lakshman Kiriella and M.A. Sumanthiran have raised legal points questioning Rajapaksa's right to continue as an MP as he no longer represents the Sri Lanka Freedom Party.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.